I've had a whale of a time trying to get people to understand me for the past few weeks. Since last Saturday, it has been a bit easier–I'm in Lonnon in eye. You what?

English is hard, especially spoken by the Brits.

I was in a posh bit of London yesterday, Highgate, when I passed a store selling a chart of the 'Cockney alphabet'. I glanced at it and had to take a snap, when I saw 'B for mutton', 'C for miles'.Brilliant! If you haven't figured out how that works, then I am sorry for you. 'X for breakfast'? Surely, you've gorrit now! 🙄

Sympathy in London only goes so far.

I just moved from watching some test cricket to get a cuppa cha, when I heard a presenter utter 'Well, it's your daughter…' I had heard hear talk about going out and getting plastered but how did her child get involved? She hadn't. The lass had said 'It's your door to…' but in'at way Lonnoners do, had dropped a few consonants. Well, Jamaican Patois should have my brain well wired fedat, but of course, it don't work lie vat. Y'knowhaamean?

French friends who were here for the weekend struggled to get the hang of Patois. They did well, even able to use 'Awoah!' well in a sentence. I'm not sure they would get far in Coronation Market, or in London because the basic understandings are always made murky by individual tones and illusions.

We were on The Tube and an announcement was made. I looked at my French friends for any sign of comprehension or concern: none.

The diction of the automatic announcement was crystal clear, but it used a few phrases that just throw people. 'Mind the gap!' and 'Alight here!' and 'southbound on the Northern Line' take a bit of nous to decipher.

Any road, we'll venture out again to get our ears tuned. It's more fun than before with so many speaking English who are not native speakers. Imagine, I say 'Uber' and you hear 'taxi'.🤔

I'll be in Boots, later, and look for something for me feet, after all the walking I've done. 😊

