If you’ve never heard anyone speak on CB (citizen band) radio, this question isn’t for you. It’s what’s your position or location, in ordinary speech. I’m often asking where people are, mentally, if not physically. 

But, let me sidestep that a moment. 

Have ever been lost, really and truly and frighteningly? Yes. As a youth, in the U.K., I went walking in the beautiful place named the Breckon Beacons, in Wales. Picturesque. Well, it wasn’t a simple walk: I was a Boy Scout orienteering, for a badge. Map, compass, instructions. See yah, later! All started well, for a British day, with some sun and cloud cover. The map reading was going swimmingly. No bother. Then, the weather started to ‘come in’, as they say. Clouds got thicker, and as we went higher, they came to meet us. It was damp. Rain? Heavy mist? We were in the clouds. But, we were also off-track. OMG!

I was never one for swearing much, but I wished I knew a few more phrases than ‘Gor blimey!’ My partner and I couldn’t figure out where we were and where we’d gone wrong. Ordnance Survey maps are not interactive like Google maps. No ‘Your destination is on your left’ These were also not the days of cell phones. What to do? Stay. Calm. 

We did. We retraced our steps as best as we could in fading light, and reached a fork, and reassessed. We’d found ourselves, again…on the map, at least. Orienteering is timed, so, in theory, if you’re off-time people should start worrying. Would they be coming and would they find us? Who could say? We made our way on, torches now needed more than ever. Eventually, we found our target. Relief! 

What that worse than being lost in cane fields in St. Kitts? Yes! 😊

