Tags

You’re supposed to come back from training courses with fresh, new ideas that you can’t wait to put into action. Well, I went to University of Technology, Kingston, last week for a two-day workshop on Multimedia Journalism, taught by Prof. of Newspaper and Online Journalism, Seth Gitner of the Newhouse School, Syracuse University, and co-hosted by UTech and the US Embassy in Kingston. The idea of doing some visual and audio commentary had been swirling around my head for a while. But, the course seemed to be the trigger I needed. I missed day two because of a snafu with my expected ride, so spent the morning at home learning about Facebook Live chats. It wasn’t difficult and I figured out enough to launch my first chat that same Friday afternoon. I did a second chat, yesterday.

In front of the camera

You can find them on a separate Facebook page I’ve created.

So, now I’m going to tweak things. One media savvy friend says I need a catchier title for the page, like ‘Dennis Talks’ (like TED Talks?) Any suggestions will be gratefully considered: crowd-sourcing works. 

I said yesterday that I don’t want to talk only about developments in Jamaica, but also about things that my wide experience suggests cross many places. That said, a Jamaican friend living abroad, who missed the first chats, was quick to look forward to views on things in Jamaica. ūüėä

So, I’m going to take feedback and roll with it. 

Look out for invitations to like the page. Don’t treat them like junk mail! 

