Now that I have merged my identities, what next? Well, I want to start a few processes that  can now flow without confusion about how my name is spelt. One of these involves getting a police record; the process for this is spelt out clearly by the Ministry of National Security. screen-shot-2016-09-08-at-9-20-05-amNow, I have some issues with it–especially, this business of hoofing from pillar to post to get things done–but I will defray raising them now. So, off to my local tax office I went this morning: they open at 8am, so it fitted nicely with my routine and I walked across the golf course to get there, as my car is being repaired. Nice and cool, and great to see the traffic backed up on Constant Spring Road.

As I entered, I saw the line for the Information Desk, and within seconds I was being directed to the ‘Express Line’: impressive, and no one was in it. I was attended to immediately. I explained that I needed to pay the fee for a police record. The official explained the three fees that were based on speed of processing the record; I picked the middle option. I explained what had just happened with my name. I knew that I needed to get my TRN corrected, and that process was being started today. However, the official wondered if the name change would affect the eligibility of the fee. I asked him why it should: the fee shows that monies have been paid to start the process, and my dog could pay it for me. But, the TRN tagged to the process would still have the old spelling of my name, so we were stuck, maybe. The young man called over a supervisor, who called another colleague and we had a nice discussion about the sense of this, and how we could move forward. Smart young fellow suggested annotating the printed receipt, showing my old name, with my new name. I hope that will work. Money paid. Receipt received. Out of there! Ten minutes, from start to finish; I’d put that in a box of fast service.

Lovely though it is that the tax office has wifi, I’d much prefer being able to make any payment online, especially when I will be doing essentially that in an office. If I’m a cash or cheque payer, different story.

So, I will give Tax Administration Jamaica an A-, for having clear, solution-oriented staff working the desks. The jury is still out on the process, and we have to see what happens when I try to make the next step. Wish me luck! 🙂

