Hamlet is my favourite play by Shakespeare. It has some excellent passages that have become memorable quotes. One came to mind today: 

 But man, proud man,
Dressed in a little brief authority,
Most ignorant of what he’s most assured,
His glassy essence, like an angry ape
Plays such fantastic tricks before high heaven
As makes the angels weep. 

It’s context is when Queen Gertrude is pleading with her husband for her brother’s life. 

I was in no such dramatic situation this morning, but my fate was in someone else’s hands, as it often is, whether we’re aware it or not. Anyway, I made a short plea and it fell on deaf ears. I turned then to making a virtue out of necessity and had a nice walk and took some interesting pictures instead of playing a round of golf.
image

 


image

I ended up happy with my few hours strolling, as it helped me still meet my daily goals. I took time out in the early afternoon to chill in a nearby hotel lobby, where someone plied me with a fruit punch. It had gotten hot and the breeze was only slight. 

I gained the chance to rest, after playing the day before, and planning to play four days in a row, which I know is idiotic. So, instead, I got a rest day and will play a round at the challenging course at White Witch, and spend Easter Sunday with friends, a day earlier than planned. I’ll take with me a special Easter Bun I bought from another friend whose husband runs a food chain that produced it. 

I’m filled with the notion that charity needs to flow more freely. 

