I’m sitting on the veranda of my father’s house in Mandeville listening to stories. We have this strong tradition in Jamaica.
image

I’ve just heard things about people connected to my family to make your hair turn white.
*****

What did I know about the man who was an uptown area ‘don’, but not like Dudus?

What about the other ‘big man’ in the area who threatened my friend’s son with an umbrella, and the ‘good father’ told the son to do back the same to him? “So, he hit him in his neck and jook him in the belly.” The boy is still alive.

I was reminded of the time I was bullied a school and broke a boy’s nose, going home to tell my father “I dead him?”

What about the man who was the father of my aunt’s daughter? He and the mother had the same family name. It’s only now I know they were not married. He was once attacked for ‘breaking up a dance’ and decided to slit another man’s stomach with a knife before he got slit. He had to go to jail. Was bailed and ended up paying a fine.
*****

The breeze keeps blowing.

