A lot of things passed off as ‘news’ pass my eyes. I’m one of those sad Jamaicans who does not spend hours devouring news from CNN and wondering why I know only about things that interest that rather slim body of the US that is called ‘cable news’ (or is it cobbled news’?). That said, British news organs are different. So, too, are those in the rest of Europe. So, just to give a little flavour, I chose some items, which randomly passed my news stream today, as reported mainly by the British media. I’m acting like a trader and closing my books early on Friday.

School for LGBT pupils planned for Manchester (The Guardian, @guardian): This one is really enlightened, on the face of it. My concern would be whether it makes the students more of a target than would otherwise be the case.

Two food stories coincided, and their images speak for themselves, but, maybe, a collaboration would be good. First, Samosa Boy! An artist’s mission to turn Indian snacks into superheroes (BBC World, @BBCWorld)

Samosa Boy

Samosa Boy

next, One mom is taking lunchtime to a whole new level with her napkin art (Good Morning America, @GMA). Screen Shot 2015-01-16 at 8.12.58 AMScreen Shot 2015-01-16 at 8.12.31 AMScreen Shot 2015-01-16 at 8.14.37 AM
Icelandic brewery makes smoked whale testicles-flavoured beer (@BBCNews). This one is a challenge, any day, but let’s go with the idea that the in the deep midwinter of Iceland, something a little peppy is needed. We in Jamaica can languor in our sunshine and sea breezes and sip Red Stripe’s new foray into flavoured beer, with its sorrel brand. I do not think that Mr. Cedric Blair needs to rush to leave golf balls for those of whales. Whale beer

