I went to the dentist this morning, to have a crown fitted. I’d just been listening to Irie FM’s Jamaica Corner, which looks at cultural aspects and has a proverb for the day. Today’s was ‘long run, short catch’.

I walked into the dentist office and was met by an nice lady, in her 70s. I told her the time of my appointment and we started joking about if I was a timely person. I said time would tell. I repeated the first part of the proverb and she completed it. A young boy sat in the corner. I asked him if he knew its meaning. He nodded. I asked him to explain, and he just smiled.

As one site quotes, the meaning is simple: It may take a long while for you to be caught and punished for wrong-doing, but you will be caught one day.

I’m now at home, waiting to hear about the press conferences by the NHT and PM about the purchase of Orange Grove/Outameni Experience. Proverbially, waiting?

