If I were a political leader, would I be concerned about my popularity and that of my party? Maybe. It depends on why I sought public office. Did I do it to boost my ego? Did I do it to improve the lives of my fellow citizens? Maybe, a combination. Did I do it to try to displace the ideas of another group or person?

When I’m in office, how do I get a true sense of what the population feels about me and my party and our policies and me, personally? Do I surround myself with people who tell me the truth, or those who tell me what they think I want to hear?

Do I follow news media? If not, how do I get an idea of what the country is being fed, in terms of issues and arguments?

Do I want to engage the media? If so, on what terms? If not, why? Do I want my views to be known. Am I content for the media to represent me in a manner that is based on my silence or based on my statements?

If I am trying to put in place unpopular policies that affect most people, how will I explain the need for these and what benefits I foresee and when?

When my actions are conditioned by the demands of foreign governments, or international agencies, or powerful individuals at home or abroad, how much do I disclose to others? Do I prefer to make it all seem as if I am in charge and able to solve all problems?

IMG_0151.JPG

Style matters in leadership. Circumstances can make a leader look like something he or she is not. They can also reinforce an image.

If a leader is true to his or her real character, then the path to tread is normally easy. Feigning, like lying, is harder than honesty. If you are what you are, but people don’t like it, the answer is simple.😊

