I keep saying to myself that I will not just be another moaner and groaner. I was in Barbados the past weekend, and a friend asked if I had gotten into the call-in programs in Jamaica. I told him that I found them to be too much moaning and groaning (M&G) and not enough grappling with real issues. Truth is, I have not given them much time, but when I have what I found was a lot of M&G. But, it’s really hard to be otherwise. Just look at the past 18 hours since I stepped off the place at NMIA yesterday.

I listened to the radio on the drive home: it was the BBC World Service. Gloom and doom from all over the world. I get home just in time for the 7pm news and listened while I unpacked my bags. What? Our single gymnast for the Commonwealth Games, wont be going? Why?

We wont get the chance to see this, because we fall over on our way to Glasgow!

We wont get the chance to see this, because we fall over on our way to Glasgow!

Administrative error! International federation fees not paid? Surely, not? Oh, yes they didn’t. Charlie Brown, where are you? Good grief!

But, there’s the perennial upside to things terrible in Jamaica. Chronixx was being featured on the Jimmy Fallon late night show on NBC. Shaggy was extolling the nation to pull for the yute. I did, and spread the link as wide as I could.

Of course, the water shortage is everyone’s problem. I had heard that rain fell during the afternoon. I mentioned it to the Immigration Officer on arrival: “It came from the sky?” she asked me, as if I was a frothing madman. I told her I presumed so. She said she’d not seen a drop. I walked out of the airport and had to agree, as I saw the hazy sky above and it felt just like west Africa and the Harmatan season. I drove home in the dry heat and reached home. I unpacked and gradually set myself up to watch Chronixx. Wait! Let me take a shower, after all that travelling. It was 10pm. I turned on the shower, and waited for the water to hit my head. One drop eked out of the shower head. I forgot so easily, after a long weekend in Barbados, which has had great rains in the past months after its dry spell. We have lock off. Minister Pickersgill has tried to put urgency into something that he had not treated with urgency before. Too little and too late. I did not see any leaks on the drive home. Yea! I read that there is now a hotline and text messaging service to report leaks. Goodie! Stops people having to use the radio call in programs. It should be easy to develop an app that could pinpoint the leaks and give the GPS locations. Guess what? Detroit is just about to introduce one.

Tehachapi_water_agencies_launch_new_webs_1520980000_4118858_ver1.0_640_480
But, Detroit is not the first: Wessex, in south England, had it in 2011. Jamaica, which so loves jumping onto a band wagon, has been slow to jump onto those rolling in the direction of progress, preferring those heading down the road to nowhere.Screenshot 2014-07-23 08.22.22 Did the Minister really say “My fellow Jamaicans…”, or was it “My fool, fool. Jamaicans…”? Today’s Observer hits the right buttons on the man-made disaster that is the water crisis. We put men in charge and maybe a woman would have figured out the answer faster, they certainly show no idea of knowing where their are Rs are relative to their As.

I will not give up hope on what seems like a hopeless case. That’s what patriotism is, I guess. However, next time I hear the phrase “working, working, working…” I may just have to pull out my finger from my ear and talk a good long walk to Vale Royal and start by saying, “Listen!…”

