Tags

, , ,

UN Secretary General Ban Ki-moon wants us to observe the International Day of Happiness in an appropriate manner, including through education and public awareness-raising activities. This is the second anniversary of this ‘celebration’. From what I have seen from an early reading of the newspapers, Jamaica has nothing special planned for today; I may have to be corrected later. Last year, at least, an article in a local paper mentioned the day.

We do have something already prepared–as they used to say on cookery programs. Pharrell Williams sings an infectious song that has become the theme of many in a short period of time. In this fast-moving, electronic age, many have already made their own versions of the song and we can share them. It is tempting to look at Jamaica and see all the signs of unhappiness and ask how they could be made to disappear. I’ll resist that temptation, fearing that “How?” may lead me to a period of deep depression, that would become deeper as I asked “When?”

So, while Bhutan can glow in the knowledge that it has tried to quantify the pursuit of happiness as a national object, I will just make the case that we all try to be happy and make someone happy today. If that’s beyond you, just listen to ‘Jamaica Happy’.

If the mood really grabs you, let me suggest that you grab someone and hum or sing the tune with them. Who knows? The infection could spread. My somewhat warped sense of humour can easily envisage our Parliamentarians breaking into this song this afternoon. If it would not breach protocol, it would be made better if the Queen’s representative, the Governor General, and his wife came sashaying into the chamber. My warped imagination also has me seeing ‘two likkle lizards’ getting their groove on…

Wetlands and water

Wetlands, food, and water

