Tags

,

Deforestation is a problem in Jamaica, as people engage in logging and clearing land in order to cultivate crops. To counter that, some organizations are working in conjunction with the Forestry Department to replant trees. I went to some mountainside in rural St. Andrew this morning. Mount Prospect.

I wrote recently that I am an environmentalist, and helping to preserve or improve the natural world around me is something I try to do as often as possible. But, I wont make a position statement on that now, but simply share some of the images from the site visit. I look forward to sharing pictures later of the planting.

image

View from Mount Prospect, St. Andrew

image

Country man on his way to the fields

image

Hillside, recently logged, and ready to be replanted. Cultivation of coffee and bananas underway.

image

Mountainside views, with trees well covering the hillsides

image

Prospective planters prospecting Mount Prospect

image

Pine cones, whose seeds are nature’s way of self-preservation

image

Zinc-sided structure, purpose unknown

